Chapter 6 – Anatomy of Flowering Plants

The current chapter describes about the internal structure and functional organisation of higher plants. Anatomy is the study of internal structure of plants. Cells are the basic unit of plants. These cells are organised into tissues and the tissues are organised into organs.Different organs have different internal structures and perform various functions. Within angiosperms, the monocots and the dicots are anatomically different. Internal structures also show adaptations to diverse environments.
Angiosperms :  a plant that comprises those that have flowers and produce seeds enclosed within      a carpel, including herbaceous plants, shrubs, grasses, and most trees.
Monocots : They have only one seed leaf inside the seed coat.
Dicots : They have two seed leaves inside the seed coat.

Related posts

Leave a Comment